Bowness Photography Prize celebrates 15 years

2006-WINNER Kathy MACKEY .jpg

21 August - 14 November | Gallery 1

In 2020 the Bowness Photography Prize marked its 15th year. To celebrate, Monash Gallery of Art (MGA) curated an exhibition that celebrates the past winning artists (2006–20) with a selection of their works drawn from the MGA Collection which showcases contemporary photography in Australia.
Established in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, across all photographic media and genres by both established and emerging artists, the annual William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation. The Bowness Photography Prize has become an important survey of contemporary photographic practice and one of the most prestigious prizes in the country. The prize reveals artists’ continued fascination with exploring and pushing the boundaries of the photographic medium, embracing its capacity to explore a diversity of voices and perspectives.


Curator: Anouska Phizacklea, MGA Gallery Director 




logo band.jpg



image:Kathy MACKEY, Reliquary 1  2006, pigment ink-jet print 45.0 x 75.0 cm. Monash Gallery of Art, City of Monash Collection courtesy of the artist







  • Saturday, 21 August 2021 | 09:00 AM - Sunday, 14 November 2021 | 05:00 PM